Gluten-free diet: Some food examples
In 2006, the American Dietetic Association updated its recommendations for a gluten-free diet, and the following food lists are based on those recommendations.
This list is not complete, so people with celiac disease should discuss gluten-free food choices with a dietitian or physician who specializes in celiac disease.
People with celiac disease should always read food ingredient lists carefully to make sure that the food does not contain gluten.
Allowed foods (gluten-free diet)
- Indian rice grass
- Job’s tears
- Wild Rice
Foods to avoid
- Wheat, including einkorn, emmer, spelt, kamut
- Wheat starch, wheat bran, wheat germ, cracked wheat, hydrolyzed wheat protein
- Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)
Other Wheat Products
- Bromated flour
- Durum flour
- Enriched flour
- Graham flour
- Phosphated flour
- Plain flour
- Self-rising flour
- White flour
Processed foods that may contain Wheat, Barley, or Rye*
- Bouillon cubes
- Brown rice syrup
- Chips/potato chips
- Cold cuts, hot dogs, salami, sausage
- Communion wafer
- French fries
- Imitation fish
- Rice mixes
- Seasoned tortilla chips
- Self-basting turkey
- Soy sauce
- Vegetables in sauce
* Most of these foods can be found gluten-free. When in doubt, check with the food manufacturer.
Adapted from the following resource: Thompson T Celiac Disease Nutrition Guide. 2nd ed. Chicago: American Dietetic Association, 2006; via the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK). For a complete copy of the Celiac Disease Nutrition Guide, please visit eatright.org.